My Second Home

2623425741_154714c162
Yes, this is the same place I’ve mentioned before.

I’ve written countless poems, papers, stories about this place. It came to a point where I didn’t want to write or talk about it, because I thought that people were getting sick of me talking about it. I wish I could go back everyday, and when I’m there I never want to leave. I haven’t been there in three and a half years. Time stops there. Like my favorite author from my favorite book said:

“Every moment of your life is lived for the future–you go to high school so you can go to college so you can get a good job so you can get a nice house so you can afford to send your kids to college so they can get a good job so they can get a nice house so they can afford to send their kids to college.”

There… college didn’t seem to matter that much. I can still hear the chants we sang there in my head whenever I need to fell pumped up. Even though I don’t believe in any religion, I feel like there is some sort of divine presence or a spiritual intervention because me, little introverted, shy, gifted, socially anxious 10 year-old kid decided to go to this summer camp for three weeks out of the blue. True, The Parent Trap (1999) had some influence, but even I was shocked by the fact that I only cried for five minutes when my mom was about to leave. I expected a lot more.

I’ve described this place countless times, and I’m afraid to do so now because sometimes I’m too literal and sometimes I’m too metaphorical. I haven’t figured out a balance yet, because there is so much to write down and describe that the biggest note book in the world wouldn’t be able to contain everything I remember. But I’ll try now:

Right where the poll meets the tennis courts, there is a water fountain. It has the water fountain top, but doesn’t have a bowl, so the water just spills right onto the concrete. The metal pipes that connect the fountain to the water are the shiniest silver I’ve ever seen, as if it is foreshadowing how good the water tastes. Anyone who has been to the mountains and drank from the tap, or a water fountain like me, can agree that the water tastes so good. I have never had water that tastes this good. Even though there were several water fountains on this ranch, this one water fountain was by far the best water I have ever tasted. People sprinted to this fountain fro water and drank for so long, that a line formed. Even though all the other water fountains were empty. 

That’s all that I can write for now. I’m too sad to write anything else.

Leave a Reply

